Upcoming events

2017 ETS Board Elections

One European Thermoelectric Society (ETS) Board Director position will be open for election at the 15th European Conference on Thermoelectrics, to be held in Padova, Italy, September 25-27, 2017.

Current board members are:
Anke Weidenkaff / Germany (President), Franck Gascoin / France (Vice President / Chair ICT/ECT2018), Jan König / Germany (Secretary), Dario Narducci / Italy (Treasurer), Alexander Burkov / Russia, Monica Fabrizio / Italy (Chair ECT2017), António Gonçalves / Portugal (Chair ECT2016), Juri Grin / Germany (Chair ECT2015), Bertrand Lenoir / France, Antoine Maignan / France, Gao Min / UK, Eckhard Müller / Germany, Peter Rogl / Germany, Krzysztof Wojciechowski / Poland.

Leaving members are underlined.

The ETS president invites you to nominate your candidate(s) by e-mail to Anke Weidenkaff and Jan Koenig containing:

  1. Name
  2. Address
  3. Affiliation / CV
  4. Relation to thermoelectrics
  5. Consent of the candidate to the nomination

Board directors are elected for a three year term and are expected to play an active part in the European Thermoelectric Society.

Nominations must be recieved by August 31, 2017. Short biographies and information about the nominees will be posted on the ECT2017 website at ect2017padova.it/ shortly thereafter.

The election to the board will be organized during the ECT 2017 in Padova, Italy and details will be announced at the beginning of the conference by the ETS President.

On behalf of the ETS Executive Board
Jan König (Secretary)

Applications for ECT2019

The ETS Board is calling for candidates to organize the upcoming conference in 2019.

The ECT is considered the most important European platform for scientists, engineers, and industry in the field of thermoelectric research, materials development and applications (power generation, refrigeration, thermal management, and sensor technique). Over the years, the prestige of the conference has been steadily enhanced with the number of participants typically exceeding 300 at the last meetings.

Addressed are Europe-based organizations, especially universities and national laboratories. A good performance record and a high profile in thermoelectrics is a prerequisite.

Interested institutions should send a message to the Executive Board as soon as possible:

Anke Weidenkaff (weidenkaff(at)imw.uni-stuttgart.de)
Jan König (jan.koenig(at)ipm.fraunhofer.de)

Upon receipt, the candidates will be provided responsibility details and information about the organizer contract to be signed.

Subsequent full proposals should include relevant information about host organization, location, conference facilities, accessibility, preliminary dates, conference chairperson, intended sponsors, and opportunities of financial support; briefly state the expected advantages to the ETS for awarding the conference organization to your institution; describe accommodation facilities and costs, travel information, plans for accompanying persons, the possibility of holding short courses, evening and satellite events; and last but not least, estimate the expected registration fees for regular participants, students and accompanying persons.

Presentations will have to be made to the Board at the board-meeting in Padova and the ECT2019 organizer will be appointed by the ETS Board during the ECT2017.

Full applications must be received by August 31, 2017.

On behalf of the ETS Executive Board

Jan König

15th European Conference on Thermoelectrics

The 15th European Conference on Thermoelectrics will be held September 25-27, 2017 in Padova / Italy.

The European Conferences on Thermoelectrics are the biggest events on this subject in Europe, a high quality scientific forum promoted by the European Thermoelctric Society. They offer open and informal disscussions on thermoelectrics covering als aspects from materials design through synthesis and characterization to application, modules and simulations.

The list of invited speakers has been compiled and includes some of the major world experts in thermoelectrics from academia and industry:

  • Eric ALLENO, Institut de Chimie et des Matériaux Paris-Est (ICMPE - CNRS), Thiais / France
  • Nick BENNETT, Institute of Mechanical, Process and Energy Engineering, Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh / UK
  • David BERARDAN, Institut de Chimie Moléculaire et des Matériaux d'Orsay, Université Paris-Sud, Orsay / France
  • Mauro BRIGNONE, Magneti Marelli S.p.A., Corbetta Milano / Italy
  • Claudia FELSER, Max Planck Institute for Chemical Physics of Solids, Dresden / Germany
  • Philippe JUND, Institut Charles Gerhardt Montpellier, Université de Montpellier, Montpellier / France
  • Daniele MARRÉ, Department of Physics, Università degli Studi di Genova, Genoa / Italy
  • Anthony POWELL, Department of Chemistry, University of Reading, Reading / UK
  • Mike REECE, Materials Research Institute, Queen Mary University of London, London / UK
  • Muhammet TOPRAK , School of Engineering Sciences, Kungliga Tekniska högskolan (KTH), Stockholm / Sweden
  • Bartlomiej WIENDLOCHA , Department of Condensed Matter Physics, Akademia Górniczo-Hutnicza (AGH), Krakow / Poland
  • Daniel ZUCKERMANN , Isabellenhuette Heusler Gmbh & Co. KG, Dillenburg / Germany

Further details on the ECT2017 webpage: