New ETS board members in 2022

Theodora Kyratsi and Marisol Martín-González were reelected

ECT 2022 in Barcelona

  • An amazing reunion after two years of pandemic
  • 18th European Conference on Thermoelectrics 14-16 September 2022

EPSRC Thermoelectric Network UK-ROADMAP published

The Thermoelectric Roadmap has been prepared by members of the EPSRC Thermoelectric Network. The contributions of the UK based members and overseas colleagues are gratefully acknowledged.

Editors are Prof. Robert Freer (University of Manchester) and Prof. Anthony Powell (University of Reading).

From the Forword:
All machines from jet engines to microprocessors generate massive amounts of waste heat, as do manufacturing processes ranging from steel to food production. Thermoelectric generators (TEGs) are solid-state devices that convert a heat flux directly into electrical power and therefore have the potential to offer a simple, compact route to power generation.
The growing concern about CO2 emissions, global warming and energy supplies over the past two decades has focussed attention on alternative, clean methods of power generation. Thermoelectric methods offer the benefit of a solid-state construction and allow the energy recovery solution to be readily adapted to the underlying process.
Applications are as diverse as automotive, marine, aerospace, medical and the Internet of Things. Thermoelectric devices can also provide effective thermal management, including microelectronics and battery conditioning in electric vehicles, and refrigeration in an all solid-state device. Solid-state thermoelectric generators have been used effectively in niche applications such as satellite missions for over 50 years. There are now considerable opportunities to use thermoelectrics in a wide variety of domestic and industrial applications, including off-grid generation of electricity. However, to exploit thermoelectrics fully as energy harvesters in the different environments requires the development of new thermoelectric materials with enhanced performance over wider temperature ranges, along with high performance modules and systems.
The UK has a growing thermoelectric community, spanning all aspects of the development supply chain from modelling to materials to engineering, with good links between academe and industry. If the UK is to reap the benefits of the initial developments there should be investment and support for a new generation of thermoelectric materials that exploits the synergies between experimental and computational expertise, novel device architectures, associated novel manufacturing and materials preparation techniques and system integration.

Further details on the EPSRC Thermoelectric Network’s webpage:

Venue of the 18th European Conference on Thermoelectrics (ECT2020)

The ETS board is pleased to announce that the ECT2020 will be held in Barcelona / Spain. The decicion was unveiled at the conference dinner during the 16th European Conference on Thermoelectrics in Caen / FranceDr. Luis Fonseca from the Institute of Microelectronics of Barcelona – the Barcelona location of the National Microelectronics Center -(IMB-CNM) will be the organizer of the conference. He also became member of the board.

The ECT2020 is scheduled for September 2020.

Mark your calendar and watch for the call for abstracts to be released at the beginning of 2020!

2018 ETS Board Elections

Three ETS board director positions had been up for election at the 16th European Conference on Thermoelectrics (ECT2018) in Caen / France on July 1-5, 2018. The successful candidates were:

  • Yuri Grin / Germany
  • Eckhard Müller / Germany
  • Dario Narducci / Italy

All candidates accepted their election. Please find the table of the new Board of Directors here.

Jan König was reappointed secretary.

Venue of the ECT2017

Three candidates (Nikosia / Cyprus, Padua / Italy, St. Petersburg / Russia,) applied for the organization of the ECT2017.

Based on the candidate’s presentations the board decided on Padua as venue for the ECT2017. Consequently, Monica Fabrizio from the CNR Istituto per l’Energetica e le Interfasi (IENI)) at Padua / Italy was appointed additional member of the board.

2016 ETS Board Elections

Due to the exiting of Jan König / Germany (Secretary), Alexander Burkov / Russia, Antoine Maignan / France, Marisol Martín-González / Spain (Chair ECT2014), Gao Min / UK and Sascha Populoh / Switzerland from the ETS board, six ETS board director positions were up for election at the 14th European Conference on Thermoelectrics held in Lisboa / Portugal on September 21-23, 2016. The successful candidates were:

  • Alexander Burkov / Russia
  • Bertrand Lenoir / France
  • Jan König / Germany
  • Antoine Maignan / France
  • Gao Min / UK
  • Peter Franz Rogl / Austria

All candidates accepted their election.

Jan König was reappointed secretary.

2015 ETS Board Elections

Due to the exiting of Bertrand Lenoir / France and Andrea Amaldi / The Netherlands from the ETS board, a ETS board director position was up for election at the 13th European Confernece on Thermoelectrics held in Dresden / Germany on June 28 – July 02, 2015. The successful candidate was:

Dario Narducci / Italy

He accepted the election and was elected treasurer for the term of 2016 – 2018.

2014 ETS Board Elections

Due to the exiting of Eckhard Müller / Germany, Lasse Rosendahl / Denmark, Janusz Tobola / Poland from the ETS board, three ETS board director positions were up for election at the 12th European Confernece on Thermoelectrics held in Madrid / Spain on September 24-26, 2014. The successful candidates were:

  • Franck Gascoin / France
  • Krzysztof Wojciechowski Poland
  • Eckhard Müller / Germany

All candidates accepted their election.

Foundation of the Italian Thermoelectric Society AIT

After a constitutive meeting in Padua already on February 19, 2014, the “Associazione Italiana di Termoelettricità” (AIT) based in Milan was officially founded on June 26, 2014. The inaugural meeting was attended by six founding members: Umberto Anselmi-Tamburini, Alberto Castellero, Matteo Codecasa, Dario Narducci, Giovanni Pennelli and Andrea Tona.
At the „Third National Congress on Thermoelectrics (GiTe2015)” (the first under the aegis of AIT) in February the process of foundation was completed. As of today, AIT counts 22 members, who formally elected the President and the General Secretary along with the Executive and the Steering Committees. Initiatives have been undertaken to advertize the AIT within the Italian community and to promote thermoelectric research and technology in Italy, as well as to improve collaborations nationwide and at a European level.
The society management is composed as follows:

  • President: Dario Narducci
  • Secretary: Monica Fabrizio
  • Executive committee: Umberto Anselmi-Tamburini, Alberto Castellero, Matteo Codecasa
  • Steering Committee: Andrea Tona, Umberto Anselmi-Tamburini, Matteo Codecasa, Alberto Castellero